Snapchat update

There has been a lot of coverage in the media over the last few days of the recent update to Snapchat. A new feature called ‘Snap Map’ has been introduced which allows people to locate other users based on their location. It is accurate enough to isolate users to a particular household. This feature poses a significant risk to a child’s safety online and in the real world.

You can find out more on this BBC News article.

If your child or any of their siblings are using Snapchat we recommend that you turn off this feature as a matter of urgency.

How to turn off Snap Map location sharing

  • When in photo-taking mode, pinch the screen to open Snap Map
  • Touch the settings cog in the top right corner of the screen
  • Tap “Ghost Mode” to switch off location sharing
  • Photos and videos posted to Snapchat’s public ‘Our Story’ will still be discoverable on the map

(sourced from the BBC article above)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *